there’s nothing like New York- Tourist Attractions Edition

I remember the first time I went to New York. When they tell you, “oh there’s nothing like New York”, they’re right. There isn’t. It’s hard to explain the reason why it is unique, but it totally gets you. It’s huge, it never sleeps, you can go many times and there’s always something to see you haven’t seen before. The first night I was in NYC I went to Times Square, as the perfect tourist. It was 2am, and it was crowded with people and lights and noise and taxis…and it gave me that buzz, that “oh there’s nothing like New York” vibe.

Image

I was staying in Brooklyn, and that made me feel I was experiencing the real New York life, all those movies, tv shows, all talking about Brooklyn. And from Brooklyn I once walked to Manhattan. And it became one of my favorite walks ever. I walked on Manhattan Bridge, looking at Brooklyn Bridge.

Let’s open the Empire State Building chapter, shall we? What a magnificent building it is. When you are at the top, overlooking New York (and on a clear day, everything surrounding it) you feel this peacefulness, this wholesomeness, even though you are surrounded by hundreds of people. But for a moment, it’s you, the wind and New York. And it’s a feeling that cannot be described. I went to the top of the Empire every single time I went back to NYC, and my feelings towards it never changed.

Central Park. I call it the “ever changing park”. Every season, a different Central Park. It is amazing, no matter the weather. The thought that such a huge park can be located at the heart of a cosmopolitan city like New York is impressive. A walk around it,  calms you nerves and makes you forget where you are, as you are transported in a mini-forest in the city.

The last picture. When I saw that, it instantly reminded me of Salinger’s “The Cather in the Rye”, the quote that says

I live in New York, and I was thinking about the lagoon in Central Park, down near Central Park South. I was wondering if it would be frozen over when I got home, and if it was, where did the ducks go? I was wondering where the ducks went when the lagoon got all icy and frozen over. I wondered if some guy came in a truck and took them away to a zoo or something. Or if they just flew away.

More NYC next on the blog, the “less touristy” New York…

Leave a Reply

